Alabama DUI 101
An Alabama DUI is like a DUI in most other states. Alabama does, however, have its own laws when it comes to drinking and driving convictions.
What Constitutes a DUI?
A DUI in Alabama, like most states, is considered .08% blood alcohol content (BAC). For a driver with a commercial license, that percentage is dropped down to .04% BAC. For daycare providers and school bus drivers, a BAC of .02% is considered illegal. Also, if a driver is under the legal age of 21, if their BAC is .02% or higher, they can receive a DUI in Alabama.
It should also be noted that, in general, if a person is under the influence of alcohol or drugs, especially to the degree that it renders you incapable of safety operating a motor vehicle, that is considered illegal, and can lead to jail time, fines and/or losing your license.
Penalties for Alabama DUIs
In Alabama, the first DUI conviction could land you in jail for a year, a fine between $600 and $2,100, or both a fine and jail time. It could also lead to your license being suspended for 90 days.
A second drunk driving conviction in Alabama could lead to imprisonment of up to one year. There is a mandatory minimum of five days in jail or 30 days of community service. If you receive a fine, that could be anywhere from $1,100 to $5,100. Your license could also be suspended for one year.
If you are convicted of a third DUI in Alabama, there is a mandatory sentence of 60 days in jail that could be extended up to one year. A fine for a third conviction could cost you anywhere between $2,100 and $10,000 and you could lose your license for three years on your third conviction.
A fourth DUI conviction is considered a Class “C” felony, and it comes with a prison term of one to ten years. The fine you could face could be anywhere from $4,100 to $10,100. You must also complete a state certified chemical dependency program and you lose your license for five years.
It should also be noted that in Alabama, all convicted DUI offenders are required to complete a DUI or substance abuse program appointed by the court.
Implied Consent Law
Alabama has a law on the books called the Implied Consent Law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test at any time, you will be fined and have your license automatically suspended.
The first time you refuse to take a chemical test, there is no jail time, but your license will be suspended for 90 days. On your second offense, there is a jail sentence of five days or 30 days of community service and a suspension of your license for one year.
The look back period in Alabama is five years. Also, there is no plea bargaining in Alabama for a convicted DUI, so be smart and don’t drink and drive.