Arizona DUI 101
Arizona DUI laws are in place to reduce the number of drunk driving incidents throughout the Grand Canyon State.
What to Know About Arizona DUI Laws
Arizona DUI laws are known to be some of the toughest in the nation. If you are pulled over and arrested for driving under the influence, you will be facing a number of fines and penalties. The law in Arizona prohibits drivers from getting behind the wheel with an alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more in their blood system. It takes very little alcohol to become legally drunk, and each individual’s different makeup can determine a blood alcohol concentration score. For some, this means as little as one drink. Being convicted of an Arizona DUI is considered a serious crime. You will face extremely high fines, mandatory programs and possibly even jail time.
The Penalties a DUI Offender Must Face
Penalties for a DUI conviction vary in the state of Arizona based on how many times you have been arrested for a DUI offense. First-time DUI offenders face a base fine, surcharges and assessment fines that total as much as $1,400. They will also face a minimum of 24 hours jail time and license suspension from 90 to 360 days. Second-time offenders face higher charges that can go as high as $3,400. Second-time offenders also face tougher penalties such as community restitution, one-year license suspension, drug and alcohol treatment programs, and a court-ordered breath testing interlock intervention device. A third-time offender will face similar penalties but with higher fines that can go up to $4,600. While all of these costs can vary a bit, the bottom line is that your Arizona DUI fines can become quite expensive.
Restrictions on Your Driving Privileges
Once you are arrested for an Arizona DUI, the state Department of Motor Vehicles will begin the automatic process of suspending your license. If you do not take immediate action, your license can be revoked for up to two years. You will typically have 15 days after your arrest to request a hearing. Filing this paperwork will help protect your right to drive prior to your hearing. A timely request will stay the suspension of your license. All cases are different, and you may be able to receive a restricted license if you can prove hardship. Some DUI offenders are given privileges to drive to and from work, or drive children to and from school. Taking immediate action to file for a hearing is critical and can make a huge difference in what happens to your driving privileges and life in the future.
Court-Mandated Arizona DUI Programs
Along with all the fines and having to deal with a restricted or suspended license, offenders have to face court-mandated classes and programs. This could mean traffic school, drug and alcohol treatment programs, or substance abuse classes. Each individual will have to complete specific requirements. Based on your special case you may even be required to undergo regular alcohol and drug screening. Most of these programs are not free. This represents more money that offenders will have to pay to complete their requirements. Arizona DUI court-mandated programs are typically ordered for offenders based on the particulars of their offenses.