Colorado DUI 101
A Colorado DUI can include Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). A Colorado DUI is triggered by an .08 percent blood alcohol content (BAC). To be cited for DWAI in Colorado, you need only have a .05 percent BAC or lower. Both are criminal offenses.
On your first DWAI conviction, which is having a BAC of between .05 percent and .08 percent, you could face a minimum of two days in jail and a $200 fine. You’ll get eight points on your license and could be assigned 24 to 48 hours of public service.
On your first Colorado DUI conviction, you could spend anywhere from five days to one year in jail and face a minimum of $600 in fines. You could get 12 points on your license and have it suspended for nine months. The court also could assign you anywhere from 48 to 96 hours of community service. You may have your jail time suspended if you’re enrolled in an alcohol treatment program.
A second DWAI offence could bring about 90 days in jail and a minimum $1,000 fine. You could receive 60 to 120 hours of community service and have your license suspended for a year. You could also get an additional 12 points on your license.
If you’re convicted of a second DUI, you could see a minimum of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. You could get hit with another 12 points on your license, as well as having it suspended for a year. A community service sentence of 60 to 120 hours could also be assigned. If you get your second DUI within five years of the first conviction, you may have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle before you get your license back.
A third DWAI in Colorado could bring with it a minimum of $600 in fines and 45 days in jail. You could also see eight more points added to your license and have it suspended for two years, as well as receive a community service sentence of 48 to 96 hours.
If you receive a third DUI offence, you could see a minimum of 70 days in jail and $900 in fines. Twelve points could be added to your license, and it could be suspended for two years. You might have to serve anywhere from 56 to 112 hours of community service. Also, prior to having your license reinstated, an ignition interlock devise will most likely be installed on your vehicle.
If you get a DWAI and have had a previous DUI, you could be looking at a jail sentence of a 60 days minimum and $800 in fines, as well as 52 to 104 hours of community service.
If you are convicted of a DUI with a previous DWAI, you could see 70 days in jail, minimum, and $900 in fines, as well as a minimum of 56 hours of community service.
Other Things To Keep In Mind
In 2010-2011, Colorado lawmakers changed the minimum time required for DUI offenders to serve in jail for a conviction. There is now a 10 day minimum jail term for a second offense and 60 days for a third offense.
Colorado also has a Boating Under the Influence Law (BUI). If you have a BAC of .08 percent while at the helm, you could be arrested for BUI. This law applies to all motorboats and sailboats.
A Colorado DUI is a serious matter, so know the laws and remember to yield the keys if you’re in doubt.