Connecticut DUI 101

A Connecticut DUI is a serious offense that is punishable by law. As in most states, in Connecticut, the amount of alcohol that is allowed in your system will determine if you are over the blood alcohol content (BAC) permissible for operating a vehicle. How severe a person is punished depends on how many times the person has been convicted of this offense. Drunk driving offenses are serious, and should not be taken lightly.

What Constitutes a Connecticut DUI

In Connecticut, it is illegal to operate a vehicle if your blood alcohol content is over the legal limit of .08 percent for those over the age of 21. Those who are under the age of 21 are allowed a limit of .02 percent, and individuals who drive commercial vehicles are not permitted to go over .04 percent.

Depending on your weight and how much your body is used to drinking alcohol, it may be difficult to assess how many drinks constitutes too much to get behind the wheel of a car. The best choice you can make is to avoid alcohol completely if you must operate a vehicle for whatever reason.

Penalties

First-time Connecticut DUI offenses differ from repeat offenses in terms of the legal penalties that are attached to them. The following is a breakdown of the types of penalties you can expect after being convicted of one or more DUIs:

First offense

  • Fines from $500 to $1,000
  • Jail time of 48 hours to 6 months
  • Driver’s license suspension for 1 year
  • Vehicle impounded for 48 hours
  • Mandatory treatment programs
  • Possible community service of about 100 hours

 

Second offense

  • Fines from $1,000 to $4,000
  • Jail time of 120 days to 2 years
  • Driver’s license suspension for 1 Year
  • Vehicle impounded for 48 hours
  • Ignition interlock device installed on vehicle for 2 years
  • Mandatory treatment programs
  • Community service for a minimum of 100 hours

Third offense

  • Fines from $2,000 to $8,000
  • Jail time of 1 year to 3 years
  • Driver’s license permanently suspended
  • Community service for a minimum of 100 hours

Restricted Licenses

In certain situations, DUI offenders in the state of Connecticut may apply for a restricted license, which may or may not be accepted. In Connecticut, the offender has to apply for and request an application for a special permit to drive a vehicle to and from work, community service or school. The offender will have to pay out of pocket for this specially designated restricted license.

DUI Programs

Alcohol education classes most likely will be mandated by the court after a DUI conviction in the state of Connecticut. The number of classes mandated will be decided upon before the offender enters the program. Depending on the extent of the program, and the type of program mandated, the offenders will have to pay for the classes themselves, which can run anywhere from $450 to $650.

Drinking and driving is a serious offense, and the state of Connecticut recognizes this and punishes offenders accordingly. Taking all this into consideration, you should definitely do what is necessary to avoid getting into a situation where you could end up saddled with a Connecticut DUI.