Hawaii DUI 101
Drinking and driving is a serious offense, and if you receive a Hawaii DUI conviction, be prepared for stiff consequences.
The Legal Limit
In Hawaii, you are considered intoxicated if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 percent. If you are a commercial driver, that BAC drops to .04 percent. And if you’re under the age of 21, you better not be drinking at all. Hawaii is a “zero tolerance” state, meaning you can’t have any alcohol in your system if you’re below legal drinking age.
Facing the Penalties
A first Hawaii DUI conviction could leave you with a fine of up to $1,000, plus an additional $500 if there was a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle at the time, as well as an additional 48 hours in jail. Your license could be suspended for up to 90 days and you could have to complete 72 hours of community service and a court- ordered substance-abuse education program. A Hawaii DUI also incurs a special trauma fund surcharge of up to $50.
A second DUI conviction in Hawaii could land you in jail for up to 14 days, with an additional two days if a child under 15 was in the car. A fine of up to $1,500 could be imposed, with an additional $500 added if a child was in the vehicle. You could also have your license suspended for a year and be required to serve up to 240 hours of community service. A special fund surcharge of up to $75 will be assessed, and you may be required to complete a substance-abuse program.
If you’ve convicted of a third DUI offence within five years of the previous two convictions, you’re looking at up to 30 days in jail, plus an additional two days if there was a child in your car at the time of the arrest. The fine can be as high as $2,500, plus a $500 penalty for endangering a child, as well as a $50 special fund surcharge. You could receive up to 240 hours of community service and be forced to complete a substance-abuse education program. You may have your license suspended for up to five years and have to forfeit your vehicle.
New DUI Law in Hawaii
As of January 1, 2011, those that have been arrested for a DUI will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their car at the cost of $84 and a monthly lease of $89. A Hawaii DUI carries some of the stiffest penalties in the nation, especially if there is a child in the car; so don’t chance it.