Idaho DUI 101
An Idaho DUI carries stiff penalties for first-time convictions, and it only gets tougher for repeat offenders.
In Idaho, if you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .08 percent, you are legally intoxicated. A commercial driver only has to have a .04 percent BAC to be a DUI offender, and if you’re under the age of 21, you only need to have a BAC of .02 percent to be in trouble with the law.
For your first Idaho DUI conviction, you could receive a fine of up to $1,000 and six months in jail. Your license could be suspended anywhere from 90 to 180 days, with a possible restricted license after 30 days. You might also be required to undergo an alcoholism evaluation and go through an alcohol treatment program.
For a second DUI conviction in Idaho, a convicted offender could face a fine of up to $2,000. For jail time, there is a minimum ten-day sentence, with a maximum of one year. Your license will be suspended for a minimum of one year after your release from jail, and an ignition interlock devise will be placed on your car after you get your license back. You also might be subject to a work detail with the county sheriff, and you may have to undergo an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.
A third DUI in Idaho will bring with it a felony charge. It will also leave you with a minimum 30-day jail sentence, with a maximum of up to five years. A fine of up to $5,000 could also be assessed. On a third conviction, your license will be suspended for a minimum of one year, and if you’re allowed to get your license back, your vehicle will be installed with an ignition interlock device. The court may also require you to undergo an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.
If your license is suspended for a DUI in Idaho, you will have to apply for an SR22 insurance policy. This insurance will be necessary for three years following your license being reinstated.
Implied Consent Law
The state of Idaho has what is called an “Implied Consent Law.” That means that if you are pulled over and refuse a chemical test, you can be subject to a fine and a license suspension.
On your first offence, you could be subject to a one-year suspension of your license and a $250 fine. If you agree to the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, you may be eligible for a restricted license, which would allow for driving to and from school or work only.
The second time you are convicted on the implied consent law, you could be facing a $250 fine and possibly ten days in jail, as well as a suspended license for two years. Again, the court could decide to reinstate a restricted license, if you agree to the installation of an ignition interlock device.
If you refuse to submit to a chemical test for a third time, you could be fined $250 and be issued a 30-day jail sentence. Your license also will be suspended for two years, but a restricted license could be issued if you agree to install an ignition interlock device.
It’s not wise to drink and drive, so be safe and hand your keys off to someone else, or you could face some stiff penalties for an Idaho DUI.