Illinois DUI 101
Illinois DUI Levels:
Illinois DUI laws dictate that persons over the age of 21 are legally drunk if they are behind the wheel with a blood alcohol level of .08 or above. Commercial drivers and school bus drivers cannot legally have a blood alcohol level of .04 or above. Drivers who are 21 or younger should not have any measurable amounts of alcohol in their systems at all when driving, unless the alcohol was part of a religious service or medicinal dosage.
Illinois DUI Penalties:
After the first DUI conviction, a driver will lose his or her driver’s license for at least a year, be charged a fine of up to $2,500 and face possible jail time for up to a year.
A second conviction will lead to a license revocation period of at least five years, jail time for up to a year, 240 hours of community service, and a fine of up to $2,500.
A third conviction is considered a Class 2 felony. This results in a driving license revocation of at least 10 years, potential imprisonment for seven years, and a fine of $25,000.
A DUI offender who causes injury to another person is responsible for a Class 4 felony. This results in loss of a license for at least a year, 480 days of community service, a fine of up to $25,000 and potentially 12 years in prison. These penalties may vary based on circumstances and the severity of intoxication.
In addition, refusing to submit for a chemical test will lead to a 12 month license suspension. Refusing to take the test after additional offenses will lead to a three year license revocation. The conviction will also appear on your public driving record, which may disqualify you for certain driver-related programs.
Even allowing a drunken person to operate a vehicle can result in jail time for up to a year and a fine of $2,500; therefore, a person should always report a drunken driver or attempt to lead him or her away from the wheel.
Illinois Restricted Licenses:
Illinois DUI law offenders can apply for restricted driving privileges. These licenses permit the driver to drive to work, medical appointments and school. The types of licenses include:
- Judicial Driving Permit
- Probationary License
- Family Responsibility Driving License
Apply for these privileges at the nearby Secretary of State office. If you don’t know where to find the nearest office, consult the Illinois Secretary of State website. The site offers a facility finder tool that makes the search easy.
When it’s time to fully reinstate a license, the fee for offenders will range from $250 to $500
Illinois DUI Programs:
DUI offenders may be required by law to attend a DUI program or school or an alcohol rehabilitation program. Some of these programs include the Serenity House Inc., Breaking Free Inc., Gateway Foundation and Genesis Therapy Center Inc. and the Counseling Center of Illinois. The cost and schedule of these programs will vary. In order to satisfy court rulings, Illinois DUI offenders must research and enroll in local facilities.