Kansas DUI 101
Kansas DUI laws are some of the harshest in the country, and if you’re caught drinking and driving in Kansas, beware — you could be facing some pretty strict penalties.
What Qualifies as a Kansas DUI
In Kansas, as in most of the other states, your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is considered to be considered above the legal limit if it is at least .08 percent while you are driving. A commercial driver is looking at having a BAC of .04 percent or higher to be considered intoxicated in Kansas. Anyone under the legal drinking age of 21 can only have a maximum .02 percent BAC behind the wheel.
Know the Penalties
Your first DUI conviction in Kansas could land you in jail for a minimum of two days. You could also be looking at 100 hours of community service and a $500 minimum fine. Your license could be suspended for 30 days, and then restricted for another 330 days. The court could also order you to an alcohol treatment program, and your vehicle could be impounded for up to a year.
A second DUI conviction could get you a minimum 90-day jail sentence and $1,000 fine. Your license could be suspended for one year, and after that, your vehicle could be required to have an ignition interlock device installed for a year. You could also have your vehicle impounded for one year, and the court could order you to complete an alcohol treatment program.
If you’re convicted of a third DUI in Kansas, it is considered a felony offense that carries a minimum of 90 days in jail and $1,500 in fines. A total of 72 consecutive hours in prison must be served prior to be considered for a work release program. You could also have your license suspended for one year and then be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for one year. A third conviction could also lead to your vehicle being impounded for up to one year, and the court could order you to complete an alcohol treatment program.
If you find yourself being convicted of a fourth DUI in Kansas, you can look forward to a felony offense, spending a minimum of 180 days in jail, and a fine of at least $2,500. You’ll be required to serve 144 consecutive hours in prison prior to being eligible for work release. You’ll also require one year of post-release supervision. As with prior DUI offenses, you’ll be looking at a suspended license for a year and then having an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for a year after you get your license reinstated. Your vehicle can, again, be impounded for up to a year, and you could have to enter a court-ordered alcohol treatment program.
Kansas DUI Law Updates
As of July 2010, Kansas has prohibited repeat DUI offenders from applying for a work release program until they have served a consecutive 72 hours of jail time. A fourth DUI conviction has increased jail time from a minimum of 90 days to a minimum of 180 days, as well as increased the amount of hours one has to serve in order to be considered for work release from 72 to 144 hours.
Throughout the years, Kansas DUI laws have gotten progressively tougher, and if you don’t want to be adversely impacted by them, your best bet is to simply refrain from getting behind the wheel if you’ve been drinking.