Maine DUI 101
Maine DUI Levels:
Maine DUI laws state that drivers over 21 years of age with a blood alcohol level of .08 or above can be convicted of operating under the influence. Commercial drivers must keep their blood alcohol level below .04 while behind the wheel. In addition, drivers under the age of 21 are guilty of operating under the influence if even small traces are alcohol are detected by a chemical test.
Maine DUI Penalties:
A first-time offender guilty of a Maine DUI may not serve jail time; however, a 90-day driver’s license suspension and fine of up to $400 will be enforced. A second offense can lead to an 18- month driver’s license suspension period, $600 fine and a week’s worth of jail time. A third offense calls for a four-year license suspension, 30 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. A fourth offense results in six years without a driver’s license, six months in jail and a $2,000 fine.
In case of an aggravated DUI, the driver may face extra penalties. For example, a first-time offender guilty of an aggravated offense is subject to the usual 90-day license suspension and $400 fine, alongside 48 hours in jail.
Factors that may aggravate an offense include the following conditions:
- Carrying a passenger under 21 years old
- A blood alcohol level that matches or exceeds .15
- Driving over 30 miles-per-hour over the speed limit
- Attempted escape
Other factors that don’t appear on this list also may apply.
Blood alcohol levels are monitored via breath or blood tests. If a driver refuses to submit to one of these tests, that driver could lose his or her license for up to 275 days. This penalty rivals the suspension time of many of the other offenses; therefore, it is usually best to simply submit to the blood alcohol test.
The state government understands that even after a conviction, an offender of DUI laws may need transportation to meet certain obligations. For that reason, it is possible for offenders to apply for work-restricted driver’s licenses. These licenses allow the driver to drive to and from work or school. However, a poor driving history may disqualify a driver from this privilege. Visit the Department of the Secretary of State — Bureau of Motor Vehicles for an application form for a work-restricted license.
The state of Maine offers a DUI program called the Driver Education & Evaluation Program (DEEP) for drivers facing drinking and driving convictions. These drivers must enroll in the program by court order. The program aims to educate drivers and provide substance abuse interventions to prevent further unlawful incidents. DEEP offers several programs, including the Under 21 Program, Risk Reduction Program, and Completion of Treatment Program. While adults attend the Risk Reduction Program for 20 hours, young drivers are directed toward the 16-hour Under 21 Program. Those facing a Maine DUI can visit the Maine Office of Substance Abuse for more information.