Mississippi DUI 101
Mississippi DUI laws are pretty straightforward. You could be looking at serious jail time and fines if you are caught drinking and driving in the Magnolia State.
What Constitutes a Mississippi DUI?
A blood alcohol content level, or BAC, of .08 percent is considered over the legal limit in the state of Mississippi, much as it is in most of the U.S. If you are a commercial driver, a BAC of .04 percent or higher is illegal. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21 and your BAC is over .02 percent, you are considered legally drunk and facing some consequences.
Mississippi Penalties for DUIs
On your first DUI conviction in Mississippi, you could be looking at up to 48 hours in jail. That could be accompanied by a fine anywhere from $250 to $1,000. Also, your license could be suspended for 90 days, but you may be eligible for hardship driving privileges after 30 days. The court may also assign you to complete an alcohol safety education program and/or attend a victim impact panel.
A second DUI in Mississippi could land you in jail anywhere from five days to one year, as well as a fine that could range from $600 to $1,500. Your license could be suspended for up to two years, and you may have to complete anywhere from 10 days to one year of community service. The court could also require you to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for six months after your license is reinstated. The court could also choose, however, to impound or immobilize all registered vehicles in your name after your second DUI conviction. As if that isn’t enough, you may also have to attend a victim impact panel and complete an alcohol safety education program.
If you are convicted of a third DUI in Mississippi, you could be looking at serving one to five years in jail, along with a minimum $2,000 fine. You could also have your license suspended for five years, or even have your vehicle seized or foreclosed on. Once you get your license reinstated, the state of Mississippi could require you to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. The court could also assign you to an alcohol abuse program and may make you attend a victim impact panel.
Implied Consent Law
Mississippi has what is called an Implied Consent Law. That means if you refuse to submit to a chemical test upon being stopped on suspicion of driving under the influence, you could see jail time and have your license suspended.
On the first chemical test refusal, you could see your license suspended for 90 days. On the second refusal, you could have your license suspended for 90 days and could have to spend five days in jail. If you refuse to take a chemical test again, you could be looking at a one-year suspension of your license and one year in jail.
Drinking and driving is against the law, and Mississippi’s laws regarding this are getting tougher. Remember, it’s not wise to drink and drive. If drunk, just pass the keys to someone else or you might end up with an unwelcome Mississippi DUI.