Missouri DUI 101
In Missouri, driving while intoxicated can result in you being charged with a Missouri DUI offense. Drunk driving puts your life as well as the lives of every other motorist on the road at risk. For this reason, the Missouri Department of Revenue’s Driver Licensing Division enforces stiff penalties if you are found guilty of driving under the influence, including suspending or revoking your driving privileges.
According to Missouri law, if you are found guilty of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or more, you face license revocation for 30 days. Your driving license will be restored after this period ends, but it will be restricted for an additional 60 days. Additional penalties include imprisonment for up to six months and a fine up to $500. If your impaired driving ability causes death or serious injury, further penalties will apply, including up to seven years in jail, a fine up to $5,000, and/or license suspension for five years.
Second-time offenders face up to one year in jail, a fine up to $1,000, license suspension for one year with mandatory use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, the Missouri SR22 Insurance Requirement (proof of insurance) and a $45 License Reinstatement Fee.
Third-time offenders face up to four years in jail, a fine up to $5,000, license suspension up to 10 years, mandatory use of an ignition interlock device, the Missouri SR22 Insurance Requirement and a $45 License Reinstatement fee.
For reinstatement of your license, you must complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program, pay the aforementioned $45 reinstatement fee, and provide SR-22 proof of insurance for two years. According to Missouri law, DUI convictions remain on your driving record permanently.
If you refuse to take a chemical test upon being stopped by a peace officer on suspicion of driving under the influence, your license will be suspended for one year. Reinstatement of your license is only possible with the completion of a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program and a $45 reinstatement fee.
Missouri does provide a restricted license; however, you cannot obtain the license until you have served at least 30 days of your license suspension. With a restricted license, you can only drive to work, school, medical appointments and other approved destinations. File your SR-22 insurance form with the Department of Motor Vehicles, and the office will issue a restricted driving permit to you. The permit is only valid up to 60 days.
Certain Missouri DUI offenders are required to attend DUI educational and treatment programs as part of their sentences. Service level fees for some of these programs are as follows:
- Offender Education Program (OEP): $130
- Adolescent Diversion Education Program (ADEP): $130
- Weekend Intervention Program (WIP): $440.52
- Clinical Intervention Program (CIP): $1005.91
- Youth Clinical Intervention Program (YCIP): $490.20
- Serious Repeat Offender Program (SROP): $1500 (Additional cost may apply)
As can be seen from examining the aforementioned information, the legal consequences for driving drunk in Missouri are dramatic, and they should not be taken lightly, lest you end up with a highly impacting Missouri DUI on your record.