Nevada DUI 101
Nevada DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 with a blood alcohol level over .08 can be considered legally drunk. The limit for commercial drivers is .04, while drivers under the age of 21 cannot have a blood alcohol level of over .02. While these levels serve as guidelines, it is possible for a driver to be penalized for having any amount of alcohol in his or her system while operating a vehicle, so it’s best to not drink at all before driving.
Nevada DUI Penalties:
Even first-time Nevada DUI offenders will face a number of costly consequences, in addition to up to six months in jail or community service. The fine for a first offense ranges from $400 to $1,000, while the fee for the chemical test is $60. Refusing the test can result in immediate arrest.
The driver’s license may be revoked for up to 90 days following a first offense. In order to reinstate a license, the driver must pay a $120 reinstatement fee. The driver’s car also will be impounded, and a fee may be required to reclaim it. On top of all of these consequences, the state of Nevada requires DUI offenders to pay a $35 civil penalty fee.
Multiple DUI offenses within seven years of each other will result in heavier fines and penalties. For example, three offenses can lead to a $5,000 fine and six years in prison. Incidents that injure or claim the lives of other motorists, passengers or pedestrians also will lead to extended consequences.
Commercial drivers can lose their commercial driving licenses for up to three years after a first offense, depending on their blood alcohol level and nature of their cargo. A second offense – in any vehicle, commercial or otherwise – can result in permanent lose of commercial driving privileges.
In Nevada, drivers who have had their licenses suspended or revoked may apply for restricted licenses. A restricted license allows the driver to drive to and from school, work, medical facilities, court-ordered appearances and grocery stores. Visit the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles for additional information concerning restricted licenses. An application form is also obtainable on the website or at a local DMV office. An application may be denied if the driver doesn’t meet certain requirements, or if multiple DUI offenses stain his or her driving history.
Nevada DUI Programs:
A judge also may order the offender to attend a DUI program or an alcohol treatment facility, depending on the severity of the case or blood alcohol level of the offender. These programs will come with additional costs for enrollment. Schedules and fees will vary depending on the chosen program or school. Nevada DUI schools include:
- AES of Nevada
- Nevada Online DUI Class
- Partnership Carson City DUI School
- City of Las Vegas First Offender DUI Program
- Lyon Council on Alcohol and Other Drugs
An online search will reveal additional programs around the state. Nevada DUI offenders should first check with their court to ensure that the chosen program is applicable to the sentence.