Selling a Car in Nevada
When you’re selling a vehicle in Nevada, you must abide by some requirements that are specific to the state. We’ve collected the appropriate information here regarding these requirements so you can know what you need to do to have a smooth vehicle sale.
1. Title Information
In Nevada, you can only sell a vehicle if you have complete ownership of it. In other words, any “lien” (loan) on the vehicle must be paid off before you can sell the vehicle. If you have paid off a lien, double-check your title to make certain that the lien has been released. If not, have the lienholder submit a Lien Release to the state. You will not be able to sell the vehicle until the lien release has been accepted by the state.
You should also make certain that you have the actual title. If you cannot find the title, you’ll need to request a replacement title from the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You will need the physical title so that you can fill out the necessary information for the buyer as proof of the transfer of the vehicle. Both your signature and the buyer’s signature will be necessary but are not required by law to be notarized.
2. Bill of Sale Requirements
Nevada requires you to submit a Bill of Sale when you sell a vehicle. The Bill of Sale can be downloaded and includes these elements:
- The new owner’s name
- The full address of the new owner
- The seller’s name
- The full address of the seller
- The date of the sale
- The sale price
- A full and detailed vehicle description, including the vehicle’s make, model, year, series number (if applicable) and body type (2-door, 4-door, sedan, etc.), as well as the vehicle identification number (VIN)
- The vehicle odometer reading at the time of sale
- The signature of the seller
- The signature of the buyer
If you do not get the Bill of Sale and submit it to the state, your vehicle will not be successfully transferred.
Nevada also requires you to submit notice to the DMV that you have sold the vehicle through the Online Vehicle Resale Notification website.
Nevada has required emission standards testing in two specific counties — Clark and Washoe. If your vehicle is registered in one of these counties, you are expected to get an emission test each year before inspection. You are responsible for making certain that your vehicle’s emission testing certificate is current before you sell the vehicle. You can get the vehicle tested at any testing station.
4. License Plates
In Nevada, when you sell your vehicle, the license plates stay with you rather than remain with the vehicle. Transferring the plates is entirely legal within the state and is possible as long as you register the new vehicle within 30 days. If you are not going to transfer the plates to a new vehicle, make sure you return them to the DMV before you cancel your insurance or you could face unintended fines or liability for the vehicle after you’ve sold it.
5. Odometer Disclosure Requirements
Nevada requires you to formally disclose the vehicle odometer reading when you sell a vehicle that is 10 years old or newer. Noting the odometer reading in the title transfer section of the vehicle title is sufficient to fulfill this requirement.
6. Other Information
If you have questions or want more details about vehicle selling, check out the website for the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.