New Jersey DUI 101
New Jersey DUI Limits:
New Jersey DUI limits are assessed via Breathalyzer tests. If the test reveals that a driver over the age of 21 has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher, that driver is guilty of driving under the influence alcohol. A driver under the age of 21 has a BAC of just .02. Commercial drivers also face a stricter BAC of .04.
If a driver’s blood alcohol content is over .08 but less than .10, the driver may lose his or her license for three months and face up to 30 days of jail time and 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. A $250 to $400 fine also will be enforced.
If a driver’s blood alcohol content exceeds .10, the driver will lose his or her license for seven months to a year, face 30 days in jail and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. A blood alcohol limit over .15 will result in the installation of an ignition interlock device.
A second offense results in license loss for two years, up to 90 days imprisonment, a $500 to $1,000 fine, 30 days of community service and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Furthermore, the driver will be required to pay a surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years.
A third offense warrants a 10-year license suspension, 180 days imprisonment, $1,000 fine, 90 days of community service, and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. This time, the driver will pay a surcharge of $1,500 a year for three years.
In all cases, additional fees, such as $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund, may also be required. Driving with an open container of alcohol can result in up to an additional $250 fine. With these payments in mind, even a first-time offender may pay a very high price for a New Jersey DUI.
Going against court orders is also a costly decision. Driving with a DUI suspension can add two years to the suspension, $500 to the fine, and $250 to the three-year surcharge. A prison term also may be issued. Failing to pay the surcharge can lead to indefinite license suspension and garnishment of wages.
New Jersey does not offer hardship/restricted licenses for DUI offenders. Drivers must simply be careful to avoid breaking DUI laws and abide by other laws that govern the road.
Even after a first offense, a judge may send a convicted drunk driver to the New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center Program. The program, which comes with a $280 fee, is a mandated educational course in the effects of alcohol. The course may last up to 48 hours. The program may also determine whether an offending driver requires additional treatment in terms of alcoholism or dependency. By completing the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center Program, drivers who have broken New Jersey DUI laws will be one step closer to regaining their driving privileges.