New Mexico DUI

New Mexico DUI laws are getting stronger. If you decide to risk getting behind the wheel after you’ve been drinking, you could be facing some serious consequences.

What Constitutes a New Mexico DUI

In New Mexico, if you have a blood alcohol content level, or BAC, of .08 percent, you are considered legally drunk by the law. If you are a commercial driver, you can get a DUI if you have a BAC of .04 percent. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, you are considered legally drunk in New Mexico if you have a BAC of .02 percent.

DUI Penalties

On your first DUI conviction in New Mexico, you could be looking at up to 90 days in jail. You could also have your license suspended for up to a year, as well as have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. Additionally, the court could assign you to an alcohol evaluation and treatment, DWI school and possibly community service.

If you’re caught drinking and driving for a second time, the penalties go up. You could be looking at a minimum of 96 hours in jail, with a maximum of 364 days to be served. You could also be assessed a minimum of $500 in fines and could be subject to an alcohol evaluation and treatment program. Furthermore, your license could get suspended for up to two years, and then you could have to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for another two years. Last but not least, the court could assign you community service, as well as probation for up to five years after all is said and done.

A third DUI conviction in New Mexico could find you saddled with a minimum of $750 in fines and 30 days in jail. You could also have your license suspended for three years and be forced to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for three years as well. Additionally, you could be subject to an alcohol evaluation and treatment program and community service. Finally, the court could assign you up to five years of probation.

The fourth time you’ve convicted of a DUI in New Mexico, it’s considered a felony offense. You’re looking at a minimum of six months in prison and $5,000 in fines. You could have your license suspended for the rest of your life, but be eligible for a review after five years. If you are allowed to obtain your license again, you will have to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for the rest of your life. The court could also assign you to an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.

If you get convicted of a fifth DUI in New Mexico, it’s considered a felony offense, subject to a minimum of one year in prison and $5,000 in fines. You are also looking at a lifetime suspension of your license. After five years, you may be up for a review, and if it is decided that you can get your license back, you will be subject to having an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for the rest of your life. You could also have to undergo an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.

With such strict penalties, it’s better to pass the keys to someone else than get behind the wheel even after you’ve had just a fairly small amount to drink, lest you end up with a burdensome New Mexico DUI.