Buying a Car in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, many of the regulations in place relating to vehicle purchasing are simple. We’ve collected the most important information on these regulations for you here, in order to help make sure your vehicle purchase in the state is easy and enjoyable.
1. Title Information
Oklahoma requires titles on all vehicles driven in the state. If you are purchasing a new vehicle from a dealer, they will take care of the paperwork (but always check to make sure they do this correctly). In Oklahoma, the owner always receives the title, even if there is a “lien” (a loan) on the vehicle. Once the lien is paid off, the lienholder will submit a lien release form to the Oklahoma Motor Vehicles Division (MVD).
If you are purchasing a previously used vehicle from a private owner, you will need the following:
- The current title, signed over and notarized to you from the previous owner
- An odometer disclosure statement if the vehicle is less than 10 years old
- Proof of financial responsibility
- A Bill of Sale
- The current registration, if any
Once you have this information, you can either take it to a MVD office or to one of the state’s motor license tag agencies.
In all cases, you have 30 days to title a vehicle from the date of purchase.
2. Insurance Information
Oklahoma requires mandatory liability insurance on all vehicles within the state. The minimum acceptable coverage is $25,000 liability per person bodily damage ($50,000 per accident) and $25,000 liability property damage.
In Oklahoma, you are also able to prove financial responsibility in other ways. You can make a cash deposit of $75,000 with the Oklahoma MVD to get a certificate, or you can obtain a bond from an appropriate company for the same amount.
Regardless of how you acquire it, you will need proof of financial responsibility, as it is required for registration of your vehicle and failure to have it can mean fines as well as immediate suspension of your license.
3. Emission Information
Oklahoma does not require safety inspections or emission testing for any vehicles.
4. Lemon Law Information
Oklahoma’s Lemon Law covers new and leased vehicles bought in the state. Vehicles are covered for only one year or the manufacturer’s factory warranty period, whichever is shorter.
In order for the law to come into play for a particular vehicle, the vehicle must either have a defect that has not been successfully repaired after three attempts or have been out of service due to repairs for at least 30 cumulative days during the coverage period.
If either condition exists, the owner needs to return the vehicle to the manufacturer and allow it to attempt one final repair. If that is unsuccessful, the owner can then begin the process of seeking a refund or a replacement. Some manufacturers will require arbitration, but in those cases, it is binding on the manufacturer but not the owner.
5. Special Information
Oklahoma has no particularly unusual vehicle purchasing regulations that you need to be aware of.