Oregon DUI 101
Oregon DUI laws can carry a multitude of penalties. If you find yourself drinking and driving while in the state, beware of what it could cost you.
What Constitutes an Oregon DUI?
To be considered legally drunk in the state of Oregon, you only have to have a Blood Alcohol Content level, or BAC, of 0.08 percent. If you are a commercial driving, your BAC only has to be a 0.04 percent. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, watch out: Oregon is a no tolerance state, meaning you can’t have any trace of alcohol in your system if you are behind the wheel.
What Are the Penalties?
The first time you are convicted of a DUI in Oregon, there are many different penalties you could be facing. You could be looking at a minimum of two days in jail and 80 hours of community service. You could be looking at a minimum of $1,000 in fines and that jumps to a minimum of $2,000 if your BAC is over 0.15 percent. If a child was in the vehicle under the age of 18 and three years younger than the driver, there is another fine you could face of up to $10,000. Oregon could also charge you a DUI fee of at least $300 and you may have to participate in a DUI diversion program or an alcohol treatment program. The court can also suspend your license for one year and once you get your license back, an ignition interlock device may be installed on your vehicle. Oregon also requires its DUI offenders to participate in a victim impact panel program.
A second DUI in Oregon could bring with it up to a year in jail and a whole host of fines, starting at $1,500 or $2,000 if your BAC was 0.15 percent of higher, as well as a DUI fee of at least $300. You could also be fined up to $10,000 if you had a passenger in your vehicle that was under the age of 18 and was three years younger than you. You could have your license suspended for three years if your second DUI conviction was within five years of your first conviction, and after you get your license back, an ignition interlock device could be installed on your car for two years. The court may also order the completion of an alcohol treatment program, and the state requires offenders to participate in a victim impact panel program.
If you get a third DUI in Oregon, you’re looking at a Class C felony offense if your other offenses were within the last ten years. The time you spend in jail jumps to up to five years and you will be looking at a minimum of $2,000 in fines. Don’t forget that if there was a child under the age of 18 in your vehicle at the time, and was at least three years younger than you, you could be looking at an additional fine of up to $10,000. A third offense could mean the permanent revocation of your license in Oregon. Also, the court could order you to complete an alcohol treatment program, and you are required to complete a victim impact panel program.
Oregon DUI laws are some of the harshest in the country, so be smart and don’t drink and drive.