Selling a Car in Oregon
When you’re selling a vehicle in Oregon, there are some requirements you have to meet. We’ve collected the appropriate information here about these requirements so you can know what you need to do to ensure a smooth, problem-free vehicle sale in the state.
1. Title Information
In Oregon, you can only sell a vehicle if you have absolute ownership of the vehicle. In other words, any “lien” (loan) on the vehicle must be paid off before you can sell the vehicle. If you have paid off a lien, the lienholder is required to send you a lien release and the Oregon title within 15 days of your doing this. You will not be able to sell the vehicle until the lien release has been accepted by Oregon and a new title has been sent to you.
You should also make certain that you have the actual title. In Oregon, the owner of the vehicle receives the title unless there is a lien, in which case the lienholder maintains the title until the lien is paid. If you cannot find the title, you’ll need to request a replacement title from the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You will need the physical title so that you can fill out the necessary information for the buyer as proof of the transfer of the vehicle. Both your signature and the buyer’s signature will be necessary.
2. Bill of Sale Requirements
Oregon does not require a Bill of Sale when you sell a vehicle, opting instead to use the title transfer. However, you can download an official Bill of Sale for tax purposes or to guarantee your sale has a record.
You will also need to submit notice to the DMV that you have sold the vehicle, either through the online Notice of Vehicle Sale or the downloadable Notice of Sale. You must do so within 10 days of the sale.
In Oregon, most of the state does not require any vehicle emissions testing. However, vehicles that are registered in the metropolitan areas of Portland and Medford are required to get an emissions test before they are registered every year. The rules are slightly different in each city, however.
In the Portland area, vehicles that are 1975 models and newer must receive emissions tests. In the Medford area, vehicles 20 years old and newer are required to be tested.
Vehicles must be tested at official testing stations, and if you are selling a vehicle, the test must be current on it before you complete the sale.
4. License Plates
In Oregon, when you sell a vehicle, the license plates can either stay with you or with the vehicle. Transferring the plates is entirely legal within the state and is possible as long as the new vehicle is the same type of vehicle as the previous one and as long as the plates are still current-issue or custom. You can begin the process of transferring plates by completing a special state form.
5. Odometer Disclosure Requirements
Oregon requires you to formally disclose the vehicle odometer reading when you sell a vehicle that is 10 years old or newer. By law, you must fill out the odometer section on the title. If you cannot fill it out for any reason, you can request a form from the state through the DMV’s online odometer page.
6. Other Information
If you have questions or want more details on vehicle selling, check out the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles website.