Utah DUI 101
Utah DUI laws leave many options to the court as to how you will be punished. If you get caught drinking and driving while in the Beehive State, here’s what you need to know.
What’s the Limit for a Utah DUI?
To be considered legally drunk in the state of Utah, your Blood Alcohol Content level, or BAC, can be no greater than .08 percent. If you are a commercial driver, your BAC cannot be higher than .04 percent. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, you should take notice: Utah is a zero tolerance state, meaning you can’t have any trace of alcohol in your system if you are behind the wheel.
Also in Utah, their DUI laws don’t just pertain to alcohol. It is considered driving under the influence if you have any kind of illegal drug or controlled substance in your system, like marijuana or cocaine.
Penalties in Utah for the First Offense
Even on your first offense, the court could decide on a number of different penalties for your first DUI conviction. You could have to serve a minimum of 48 hours in jail, or at least 48 hours in a work service program. Home confinement is also an option. The first offence carries a $700 fine and a license suspension of 120 days. The court could also decide to use electronic monitoring during home confinement, and you may have to participate in alcohol screening and assessment and/or participate in a substance abuse program.
Following a Second Conviction
A second DUI conviction in Utah could bring with it a minimum of 240 hours in jail or 240 hours in a work service program. You could also see home confinement, possibly with the use of electronic monitoring. The state may fine you a minimum of $800 and you could have your license suspended for two years. There could also be an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for three years if the second DUI is within ten years of your previous conviction. The court could also give you supervised probation and you may be required to participate in an alcohol screening and assessment, or a substance abuse program.
If you are convicted of a third DUI in Utah, the penalties jump dramatically. You could be looking at a minimum of 1,500 hours in jail and a $1,500 minimum fine. Your license could be suspended for two years and an ignition interlock device could be installed on your vehicle for three years if your previous DUI convictions were within the last ten years. A supervised probation term may also be in your future. The court could also have you participate in an alcohol screening and assessment program, as well as a substance abuse education and treatment program.
Just because the state has a lot of options for Utah DUI offenders, don’t expect to get off easy. Remember, it’s always best to not get behind the wheel if you’ve been drinking and driving, and if you do decide to drink, hand over the keys to someone else so you aren’t don’t get a Utah DUI.