Washington DUI

If you get a Washington DUI, you should be aware of what penalties you could be facing if you happen to be caught drinking behind the wheel.

What Constitutes a Washington DUI?

If you have a Blood Alcohol Content level, or BAC, of .08 percent while in Washington, you are considered legally drunk. If you are a commercial driver, your BAC can only be .04 percent before you are considered legally drunk. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, your BAC cannot be more than .02 percent while behind the wheel.

Washington DUI Penalties

Your first DUI conviction in Washington could bring about a multitude of penalties. You could face anywhere from 24 hours to one year in prison, or 15 days of electronic home monitoring. If your BAC was .15 percent or higher, you could face anywhere from two days to one year in prison, or 30 days of electronic home monitoring.

Fines start out at $865.50 and can jump up to $5,000. You could see your license suspended for 90 days or up to a year if your BAC was .15 percent of higher. The state will also require you to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. Washington will require an SR22 insurance policy as well. The court could also assign an alcohol education program.

The Second Offense

A second DUI conviction in the state of Washington could land you in jail for at least 30 days or 60 days of electronic home monitoring. If your BAC was .15 percent, jail time increases to a minimum of 45 days or 90 days of electronic home monitoring. Fines start at a minimum of $1,120.50 and could be as high as $5,000. Your license could be suspended for two years or 900 days if your BAC was .15 percent or higher. An ignition interlock device may also be required to be installed on your vehicle, as well as an SR22 insurance policy. The court may also force you to complete an alcohol education program.

Penalties for a Third DUI

If you get convicted of a third DUI, you could be looking at a minimum of 90 days in jail or 120 days of electronic home monitoring. If your BAC was .15 percent or higher, your minimum jail time starts at 120 days or 150 days of electronic home monitoring. Fines for a third conviction start at $1,970.50 and increase to up to $5,000. Your license could be suspended for a minimum of three years or four years if your BAC was .15 percent or higher and you could be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle, as well as having to provide an SR22 insurance policy. The court could also order you to participate in an alcohol education course.

If you are convicted of a Washington DUI, there are many different penalties that the court could assign you. Of course, it’s best that you, instead, do the smart thing and don’t get behind the wheel after you’ve been drinking. Don’t endanger yourself and others by risking a Washington DUI.