Wyoming DUI 101

In Wyoming, any person caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above .08 percent can be charged with driving while intoxicated (Wyoming DWI) or driving under the influence of alcohol (Wyoming DUI).

Wyoming has yet to mandate laws against alcohol-related stops; therefore, law enforcement officers must rely not only on field sobriety tests but field test evaluations as well. Field tests typically include asking you to recite the alphabet backwards, count back from an assigned number, and walk heel-to-toe up a straight line. Another common field test is the horizontal gaze nystagmus test (HGN), which is also known as eye-jerk analysis. All of these tests are designed to test your level of intoxication without having to rely on a field sobriety test, which can be faulty and inaccurate. Wyoming courts will only accept breath test readings that are taken once you have been booked into custody and escorted to jail, not those taken at the roadside.

If you decide to plead guilty to a drinking-and-driving charge or are found guilty by the court, you face legal penalties, which increase with each offense.

First Wyoming DUI Offense

  • Up to six months in jail or a fine up to $750, or both
  • License suspension up to 90 days
  • Use of an ignition interlock device (drivers with a BAC of .15 or higher only)
  • Substance abuse assessment

Second DUI Offense

  • Imprisonment from seven days to six months
  • Fine from $250 to $750
  • License suspension up to one year
  • Use of an ignition interlock device up to one year
  • Substance abuse assessment

Third DUI Offense

  • Imprisonment from 30 days to six months
  • Fine from $750 to $3,000
  • License suspension up to three years
  • Use of an ignition interlock deviceĀ up to two years
  • Substance abuse assessment

If you refuse to take a field sobriety test, you face automatic six-month suspension of your license (with no jail time). On the second and third offenses, you face 18-month license suspension. The second offense carries a mandatory seven-day jail sentence, and the third offense carries a 30-day mandatory jail sentence.

Suspended License

Wyoming offers a probationary license to those whose license has been suspended; however, you must request a probationary license in writing, submit a $15 fee for the initial appraisal process, and show evidence that you must drive to and from work or face losing employment. The department will review your case and render a decision. If your request is granted, you must have an SR-22 filed if necessary, and return an application to the department with a $25 probationary license fee.

DUI Programs

If you are convicted of a Wyoming DUI, you may be ordered by the state to take a substance abuse assessment, which evaluates the level of your drinking problem and teaches you how to drive safely without putting others at harm. DUI programs vary by the type of offense and can last anywhere from 10 hours to as many as 45 hours. Costs for Wyoming DUI programs vary widely.