Alaska DUI 101
Every state has their own individual laws dealing with drunken driving convictions, and below, you’ll find out about an Alaska DUI.
In Alaska, if you have a certain Blood Alcohol Content, or BAC, you could be charged with a DUI. The state limit is .08 percent for anyone over the age of 21. Commercial drivers can only have a BAC of .04 percent. If you are under the age of 21 and have been drinking, don’t get behind the wheel in Alaska: They have a zero tolerance policy.
DUI Fines and Penalties
On your first Alaska DUI conviction, you could be facing a $1,500 fine, a prison stay of a minimum of 72 hours, and a suspension of your license for at least 90 days.
A second conviction of drunken driving is almost double what a first conviction would be. You could be looking at a $3,000 fine, a 20-day minimum jail sentence and the suspension of your license for a year.
If you get a third drunk driving conviction in Alaska, you could be looking at a three- year suspension of your license, 60 days in jail and a $4,000 minimum fine. If you’ve been convicted of three DUIs in ten years, then you could be facing a Class “C” felony, as well as 120 days in jail, a $10,000 fine and the permanent suspension of your license.
A fourth Alaska DUI offense could bring with it a $5,000 fine, 90 days in prison and a five year suspension of your license. If you’re convicted of a fourth DUI in ten years, the penalties increase to 120 days in jail, a $10,000 fine, a permanent suspension of your license, and you can also be charged with a Class “C” felony.
If you get caught drinking and driving for a fifth time, you face a suspension of your license for five years, 240 days in prison, and a fine of $6,000. If this is your fifth DUI in ten years, you could be facing a Class “C” felony, a permanent suspension of your driver’s license, and 360 days in prison and $10,000 in fines.
In addition to any of those penalties above, a person convicted of a DUI could also deal with any of the following:
- An ignition interlock device installed on your car during a probationary period, with all costs paid by you.
- The court system could order enrollment in an alcohol safety action program.
- If you are convicted and incarcerated of a DUI, you could be required to take medication that is meant to prevent the consumption of alcohol.
Special Insurance Requirement
In Alaska, if you’ve been convicted of a DUI and had your license suspended, you may have to get an SR22 insurance policy to get your license reinstated. You may have to have this on your insurance policy for a minimum of three years.
Ways to Get Your License Revoked
Alaska is firm on their drinking and driving laws, and there are multiple ways that you can have your driving privileges revoked.
- Refusal to submit to a chemical test following a drunk driving arrest
- BAC of .08 percent or more
- A BAC of .04 percent for commercial drivers
- If you are under 21 and operating a vehicle after drinking, refusal to submit to a chemical test and/or use of a fake ID to get alcohol
Alaska DUI laws are tough, so remember to be safe and don’t drink and drive.