Buying a Car in Wyoming
Wyoming has a number of simple, straightforward regulations that impact vehicle purchasing. We’ve collected the most important information about those regulations here, as well as links that will help guide you to more information should you need it, and all of this should help make your vehicle purchasing experience in the state as hassle-free as possible.
1. Title Information
Wyoming requires titles for all vehicles. If you are purchasing a new vehicle from a dealer, they will do most of the paperwork for you (but make certain they do so). In Wyoming, titles go to new vehicle owners even if there is a “lien” (a loan) still outstanding on the vehicle.
If you are purchasing a previously owned vehicle from a private owner, you will need to gather the previous title (signed over to you), a Bill of Sale for the purchase, and proof of insurance. You will need to take this documentation and the appropriate fees to your local county clerk office.
2. Insurance Information
Wyoming requires all vehicle drivers in the state to have proof of financial responsibility. For most vehicle owners, the easiest way to get this proof is to acquire auto insurance. The state minimum requirements are $25,000 liability per person bodily damage ($50,000 per accident) and $25,000 liability property damage.
You can also choose to fulfill the proof of financial responsibility requirement by getting a bond or certificate of deposit with the State Treasurer’s office for $25,000. However you decide to show proof of financial responsibility is up to you; just make sure that you do it in some way. The fines are extremely steep for even the first offense of being found without such proof: $750 and six months in jail. So do yourself a favor and make sure you’ve got this item taken care of when you purchase your vehicle.
3. Emission Information
Wyoming does not currently require inspections or emission testing on any of its vehicles.
4. Lemon Law Information
Wyoming does not technically have a lemon law on its books. It has, however, something very similar in its Title 40 law. This law covers new vehicles while they are under the standard manufacturer’s warranty.
For the law to be applicable to it, a vehicle must either have a defect that has not been successfully repaired after three attempts within a year or have been out of service for repairs for at least 30 days in a year. If either situation occurs, the owner can then attempt to get a refund or replacement for the vehicle.
The owner must contact the manufacturer and give them detailed reports on why the vehicle is a “lemon.” The manufacturer has the option of refunding the owner or replacing the vehicle, and if necessary, both sides can go to arbitration.
5. Special Information
Wyoming does not have any additional special regulations that prospective car buyers need to be aware of.